The Haunting of Thores-Cross by Karen Perkins

  • File Size: 4034 KB
  • Print Length: 279 pages
  • Publisher: LionheART Publishing House (January 3, 2014)
  • Publication Date: January 3, 2014
  • Sold by: Amazon.com Services LLC
  • Language: English

The Haunting of Thores-Cross by Karen Perkins

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Description

An evocative, dual-timeline novel moving between the isolation and oppression of life in a 1700s Yorkshire moors village and present day, The Haunting of Thores-Cross is perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Nicola Cornick, Laura Purcell and Susanna Kearsley.

***

“The ghost of a wronged young woman in the village of Thores-Cross waits 230 years to have her story told in Perkins’s suspenseful and atmospheric first Yorkshire Ghost novel” – BookLife by Publishers Weekly

*Silver Medal Winner, European fiction – 2015 IPPY Book Awards
*#1 Bestseller in 6 Amazon Categories, including Ghost Suspense, British Horror and Gothic Romance
*Top 10 Bestseller in 8 more, including Historical Thrillers and Occult Horror

***

Present day – Emma Moorcroft is still grieving after a late miscarriage and moves to her dream house at Thruscross Reservoir with her husband, Dave. Both Emma and Dave hope that moving into their new home signifies a fresh start, but life is not that simple.

Emma has nightmares about the reservoir and the drowned village that lies beneath the water, and is further disturbed by the sound of church bells – from a church that no longer exists.

1776 – Jennet is fifteen and lives in the isolated community of Thores-Cross, where life revolves about the sheep on which they depend. Following the sudden loss of both her parents, she is seduced by the local wool merchant, Richard Ramsgill. She becomes pregnant and is shunned not only by Ramsgill, but by the entire village.

Lonely and embittered, Jennet’s problems escalate, leading to tragic consequences which continue to have an effect through the centuries.

Emma becomes fixated on Jennet, neglecting herself, her beloved dogs and her husband to the point where her marriage may not survive. As Jennet and Emma’s lives become further entwined, Emma’s obsession deepens and she realises that the curse Jennet inflicted on the Ramsgill family over two hundred years ago is still claiming lives.

Emma is the only one who can stop Jennet killing again, but will her efforts be enough?

 

***

What readers are saying about Karen Perkins:

“Ms Perkins is a true artist of the spoken word” – Author JJ Toner

“Fantastically creepy ghost story” – Author Lee Franklin

”Karen Perkins is truly a master of words, emotion, and craft” – Author Linda George

“This is the most well-researched, intense and spookiest book I’ve ever read” – Author Amy Queau

“Excellent story written with passion by a first class story teller” – James Elkington, Amazon reviewer

“Reading about a place that is close to my heart (as Haworth is) was wonderful. Karen should be proud of the intense research that she has done for this book” – Susan Sunderland, Amazon reviewer

“Karen Perkins is an excellent author and puts you right inside the Yorkshire Dales” – Mike McManus, Amazon reviewer

“Fantastic, atmospheric, tantalising, and edge of your seat read” – Jus, Amazon reviewer